Why Bad Things Happen To Good People

Tough subject today, huh?

I could go ahead and tell you stereotypical things.

  • Because the world’s not perfect
  • Because Satan exists
  • Because God needs to punish

And as true as all of those are, I think there is a deeper meaning than just that. Lately I’ve been inspired by my friends. We had this really deep emotional time where we all talked about the saddest thing that’s ever happened to us. Only two of us actually said our stories, but it kind of amazed me how, for both of us, that sad story had defined us to become absolutely passionate about something. For my one friend, it made her passionate to go into a special needs career later in her life. For me, it brought me to Honduras.

I keep seeing this trend constantly. Those who’ve had to overcome crazy struggles end up doing amazing things. Those events that try to break them actually define and better them.

So here’s my answer to that question. You may agree, or disagree, but the reason bad things happen to good people is to give us a calling, and a set purpose. I, for one, know that if the events that have happened in my life didn’t happen, I wouldn’t have gotten attached to Honduras. I wouldn’t have the passion for it that I do now. I would not even consider ever living there or being a missionary.

If you let them, your worst curses can actually be blessings in disguise.

I’m not going to rehash my whole entire life’s story on a blog, mostly because others involved in it may not want it getting out. Basically, my family has had a very, very hard time in the past four years. There’s been a lot of police interventions, hospitalizations, etc. It’s been really hard for all of us. Because of those years, I’ve been a little emotionally scarred. I’m not nearly as attached to my family as I was. In fact, I find it kind of funny when I’m in Honduras and my friend Sarah’s going crazy face-timing her family INCLUDING DOGS just about every single piece of free time she has.

Don’t get me wrong, I do love my family. I love them just like everyone else loves there family. But I’m not dependent on them, and I’m not attached. Within those years I have acquired the reverse role in my family. Instead of being able to go to them when I’m weak or afraid or depressed, I had to suck it up and be there for them. It was so incredibly hard hiding my emotions from everyone. I wasn’t allowed to tell my friends, and I couldn’t talk about it to my family. So there I was, stuck, raging with anger and crying with sadness in the inside, needing and wanting help, but having to suck it up, put on a smile, and pretend like nothing was happening.

Because of all of that, I’m able to leave my home and country, go to Honduras, and be absolutely happy and not homesick. It even has made me found a new (but not replacing the old) family. Which is, as most could of guessed, the kids. I can’t even begin to imagine living their lives. Although mine was not by any means perfect, they suffered worse.

They’ve lived on the streets.

Gone through multiple orphanages.

Have been abandoned and a lot of cases, abused, by their families.

They’ve been disgraced by the general population.

And so much more.

They are the strongest people I know.

What we need to remember is that when things are going bad, we need to keep our heads up. We can’t give upIt’s not easy to live life now-a-days. I understand. There are so many people today suffering with:

  • Divorce
  • Drugs
  • Alcohol Abuse
  • Physical Abuse
  • Emotional Abuse
  • Money Problems
  • Unhealthy relationships
  • Bullying
  • Family problems
  • Loss of a close one
  • Health Problems
  • Natural Disasters (Gosh darnit Sandy!)
  • Eating Disorders
  • Depression

You name it. There’s just too many problems today to list. And we all seem to fit into some type of “problem” category. I feel like I can’t go anywhere now-a-days without hearing a crazy story that nearly brings me to tears. The problem with that is, we throw pity parties. I mean, I certainly do that. But instead of the pity parties we need to focus on something different.

We need to turn these horrible, depressing problems into blessings.

Think about it. When you try to think of things that have happened in your life, what do you remember more? The happy moments, or the sad ones that have defined you? I mean, I’m not a depressing person, but the sad ones definitely stick out first for me. They truly have shaped me into the person I am. In a way, the best thing that can happen to you is something sad, because it makes you a stronger person with a calling, passion, and purpose.

So for all of you who are suffering out there, remember this, God won’t give you anything you can’t handle. He’s giving it to you for a reason. You can overcome this. Not only will the pain eventually end, but it’s going to be a blessing in disguise. You aren’t alone.

And besides, who wouldn’t want to keep pushing forwards if they got to meet this little man?

Image

Sorry Lauren, I had to. I mean, look at him.

So to all my sufferers in the house, go out there and find your purpose/calling/passion! It’s waiting for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

