A Call to Action

Well, I’ve been deeply thinking about how to write this for too long. As many of you know, I am spending the next year of my life living in Honduras working in orphanages and partnering them with churches both in Honduras and abroad. I will be volunteering with R.O.O.M. – Reach Out Orphanage Ministries. This ministry is amazing at helping kids in need, and I can’t wait to assist them in making gigantic differences in Honduras. This is a very special opportunity that’s unveiled itself to me within the past year, and I can’t wait to serve and live in, what I think, is the greatest country in the world!

I know I could probably put together a fairly cheesy but satisfactory letter with a photo of an adorable kid in it, send it out, and achieve my funding goals. However, I want to make this as genuine as I possibly can. I know I can’t tell you that my mission is more important than others. I also can’t tell you why I believe I should be the one you choose to spend your money on, or that I’ll do exactly what you expect and want. I don’t want to make myself seem like my cause is more necessary than others.

What I want to do with this letter is state the facts, and let God take control from there. If you feel it in your heart to help me and my dream, thank you so incredibly much. If you feel otherwise, I promise not to take any offense. So, here’s the facts:

Fact 1: I believe God has called me to be a missionary in Honduras. Looking back on my life, I can see how God perfectly crafted me to be a missionary through my hardships and through the things he’s given and taken from my life. The beginning of my missionary career is pretty interesting, considering I never even wanted to go on a missions trip in the first place. Through a series of complicated events God shoved me into the mission field, and placed a love for it that can never be taken away. I know this is God’s plan for me, at least in this moment, if not for the rest of my life. These events He’s placed are much more than coincidence, they’re direct pushes and calls from God for me to help the people of Honduras. For now, stating all the things I’ve been through that have gotten me to this conclusion aren’t a possibility since it involves lives and reputations other than mine. I hope one day to share all the things that have led me to this point, however, the fact stays the same. God is calling me to be a missionary in Honduras, and I know if I turn away from it I’ll get a direct push back.

Fact 2: This is much more than a year-long commitment. To me, this is a forever commitment. Don’t worry, I’m not asking you for a forever-funding! For now, I’m only asking for the year-long funding. I need whoever funds me to know that this isn’t just happy-fun-exotic-trip time for me. This is me committing my life to missions. Even if I don’t end up living in Honduras for the rest of my life, I will forever be connected there. The relationships I’ve already made seem so strong that I can’t possibly give them up – imagine what a year will do! This is introducing my life into a new chapter of being a servant to others. So, if you’re worried about your money going to some happy-go-lucky leap year trip, you don’t have to worry. This means so much more to me than that.

Fact 3: I can 100% guarantee you that a life will be changed. Now, 99% of the guarantee will be most-likely be myself, but I promise that’s not as selfish as it sounds. As I mentioned above, this will forever change my self-concerned life into a life concerned with serving others. However, I know the work I do will make a difference, even if that difference is incredibly small. I do believe God is going to do outstanding things in the lives of others through me. It is completely possible that I could change someone’s life. Whatever God decides to do through me he will do. No matter what happens, a difference will be made.

Fact 4: If you fund me, you will keep getting “awww” photos like this:

35528_4093351347142_1979428703_n

Thank you so much for your consideration. I wouldn’t be able to do anything without contributions from others. Whether God leads your heart to aiding me or aiding another, thank you for helping everyone around the world. God bless.

You can do anything from a one-time donation to a monthly donation. You can also send it through a check in the mail if you’d like. If you would like to donate online, please click here

Here is my address for mailing:
12645 Beaver Den Trail
Homer Glen, IL
60491

Leave a Reply

